STATEMENT: Oklahoma’s Election Demonstrates Accurate and Timely Results

Time to read
1 minute
Read so far

STATEMENT: Oklahoma’s Election Demonstrates Accurate and Timely Results

Thu, 11/12/2020 - 14:46
Posted in:
In-page image(s)

OKLAHOMA CITY – Members of the Oklahoma House of Representatives are encouraging their colleagues from other states to model their systems after Oklahoma election laws.

“For years Oklahoma’s election system has provided Oklahoma voters with rapid and undisputed results.

Through a mix of common sense quality controls, including numbered ballot pads, election night reporting, a mix of scanning technology and traditional, verifiable paper ballots, voter identification and precinct-level officials who are appointed by both of the major political parties, Oklahoma leads the nation in election policy.

We appreciated the federal court earlier this year upholding Oklahoma’s strong election laws, particularly the reasonable absentee ballot requirements the Legislature enacted through SB 210 last session. By all accounts, the Legislature’s actions proved successful and Oklahoma concluded election night with yet another fair, timely outcome that has not been disputed: This included the Congressional District 5 race, which was decided by less than 13,000 votes.

We are witnessing firsthand how weak election policies of other states impact the entire nation, including Oklahoma. As demonstrated by Oklahoma, there is no reason we should have to wait days for the outcome of any election. We call on the other states to immediately pass meaningful and common sense reforms to their election processes.

The integrity of the voting process is vital to our republic. There should be no doubt as to the results if we can secure the process at the outset. Mail-in ballots that do not require proof of identity is a recipe for fraud. We have gone through this process three times at the national level in recent years with the 2000, 2016 and now 2020 elections.

As members of the Oklahoma Legislature, we ask other state legislatures across America to demand reform and pass legislation similar to SB 210 on absentee ballot integrity and SB 1779 outlawing absentee ballot harvesting in our state.”

Legislators issuing the statement include:

Rep. Brad Boles, R-Marlow

Rep. Ty Burns, R-Morrison

Rep. Sherrie Conley, R-Newcastle

Rep. Denise Crosswhite Hader, R-Piedmont

Rep. Sheila Dills, R-Tulsa

Rep. Scott Fetgatter, R-Okmulgee

Rep. Tom Gann, R-Inola

Rep. Brian Hill, R-Mustang

Rep. Justin Humphrey , R-Lane

Rep. Ronny Johns, R-Ada

Rep.-elect Gerrid Kendrix, R-Altus

Rep. Dell Kerbs, R-Shawnee

Rep. Mark Lawson, R-Sapulpa

Rep. Mark Lepak, R-Claremore

Rep. Ken Luttrell, R-Ponca City

Rep. Robert Manger, R-Oklahoma City

Rep. T.J. Marti, R-Broken Arrow

Speaker Charles McCall, R-Atoka

Rep. Kevin McDugle, R-Broken Arrow

Rep. Carl Newton, R-Cherokee

Rep. Terry O’Donnell, R-Catoosa

Rep. Jim Olsen, R-Roland

Rep. Charles Ortega, R-Altus

Rep. Mike Osburn, R-Edmond

Rep. Kenton Patzkowsky, R-Balko

Rep. Cynthia Roe, R-Lindsay

Rep. David Smith, R-Arepelar

Rep. Chris Sneed, R-Fort Gibson

Rep. Marilyn Stark, R-Bethany

Rep. Jay Steagall, R-Yukon

Rep. Judd Strom, R-Copan

Rep. Tammy Townley, R-Ardmore

Rep. Mark Vancuren, R-Owasso

Rep. Kevin Wallace, R-Wellston

Rep. Josh West, R-Grove

Rep. Kevin West, R-Moore

Rep.-elect Rick West, R-Heavener

Rep. Rande Worthen, R-Lawton

Sen. Michael Bergstrom, R-Adair

Sen. David Bullard, R-Durant

Sen. Nathan Dahm, R-Tulsa

Sen. Julie Daniels, R-Bartlesville

Sen. Brent Howard, R-Altus

Sen. Chris Kidd, R-Waurika

Sen. Dewayne Pemberton, R-Muskogee

Sen. Zack Taylor, R-Seminole

Sen. Darrell Weaver, R-Moore