Ponca City, OK

New Inductees to Enter Athletic Hall of Fame at Southwestern

WINFIELD — The Southwestern College Athletic Hall of Fame will induct seven new members Saturday, Oct. 20, in the Roy L. Smith Student Center at 10 a.m. Inductees will also be introduced at halftime of the Southwestern-Bethel Homecoming football game. The new members are Kalan Powers ’04, Stephen Peebles ’88, Torey Keller ’87, Darren Boyd ’85, Paul Steele, ’85, Cheryl Gleason ’75, and Leah Hartman (Rankin) ’07.

Kalan Powers made the most of his two years playing basketball at Southwestern. Powers was a two-time academic All-American, a two-year letter winner, a first team All-KCAC selection, and a team captain. During his two seasons at SC, he was regarded as one of the most feared shooters in the league.

Stephen Peebles played four seasons of football at Southwestern and was a starter for each of those seasons. Peebles was named a team captain and was an All-KCAC performer twice. The Moundbuilder football team enjoyed tremendous success during his time in Winfield. With his help and leadership Moundbuilder Football earned conference championships in 1985 and 1987, and were runners-up in 1986 and 1988.

Torey Keller had a decorated career in track and cross country at Southwestern College. He was the KCAC champion in 1986 and 1987 in the 800 and 1500 meters. He was selected as an All-KCAC cross country runner in 1986 and also earned All-American in ’86 and ’87. Keller helped lead the SC cross country team to a KCAC and NAIA District 10 title in ’86. Keller is currently the head cross country coach at Winfield High School.

Darren Boyd played four years of tennis at Southwestern and enjoyed great success. He was an All-KCAC performer and an All-Academic team member for all four seasons. Boyd was also a NAIA regional finalist three times.

Paul Steele was a four-year player for the Southwestern College Moundbuilder basketball team. He was named All-KCAC three times and an All-American. Steele was a prolific scorer for SC. His 1,424 points are in the top 10 for all-time scoring at SC, which he scored before the three-point line was introduced to the game.

Cheryl Gleason was one of the most versatile athletes ever to come out of Southwestern College. She played tennis for four years, and volleyball and basketball for three years. She was a leader on the 1975 KCAC championship volleyball team. In 2015, Gleason was inducted into the Kansas Volleyball Association Hall of Fame.

Leah (Rankin) Hartman played tennis for four seasons and ran cross country for three as a Moundbuilder. She was a first team All-KCAC selection all four seasons, helped lead SC to two second place conference finishes, was named team Most Valuable Player twice, and was the recipient of the Dr. Leroy Walker Champion of Character award. In cross country, Hartman was a part of two team KCAC championships. Hartman also was the captain of the JINX dance team.

“This is as special class of inductees – during each of their careers as collegiate athletes they racked up an impressive list of accolades and accomplishments, but beyond that, they are excellent Builders. They are people of strong character and it is an honor to celebrate them,” said Mike McCoy, athletic director at Southwestern College.

McCoy adds that nominations for the 2019 Southwestern College Athletic Hall of Fame will be accepted until Dec. 31. To submit a nomination, email McCoy at Mike.McCoy@sckans.edu.

The public is invited to attend the ceremony and there is no admission charge. For more information about the SC Athletic Hall of Fame or the induction ceremony, call 620-229-6218.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.