Ponca City, OK

NOC Students Recognized For Academic Excellence, Leadership And Service

NORTHERN OKLAHOMA COLLEGE students named to the All-Oklahoma/USA Academic Team are, from the left, Katherine Davis and Dylan Mulligan, both of Tonkawa.

NORTHERN OKLAHOMA COLLEGE students named to the All-Oklahoma/USA Academic Team are, from the left, Katherine Davis and Dylan Mulligan, both of Tonkawa.

The Oklahoma Council of Two-Year College Presidents and the Oklahoma Association of Community Colleges (OACC) named 39 students to the All Oklahoma/USA Coca-Cola Academic Team, among them two area Northern Oklahoma College students. Also, one NOC area student was a recipient of the OACC President’s Tuition Waiver Award.

NOC Tonkawa students recognized as All-Oklahoma Academic Team members during the March 28 ceremony, held at the Oklahoma State capitol, students Katherine Davis and Dylan Mulligan, both of Tonkawa were two of the six outstanding NOC students.

The All-Oklahoma Academic Team Program provides statewide recognition to outstanding two-year college students.

To be eligible, students must be nominated by their college president, eligible to graduate during the 2016-2017 academic year and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.5.

Medallions and certificates were awarded to the team members.  

Oklahoma is one of 35 states participating in the State Academic Team Program. The State Academic Teams were introduced in 1994 as a way to provide scholastic recognition to community college students, while promoting excellence at two-year colleges. The State Academic Teams are a division of the academic All-American Team for Community, Technical and Junior College students, an international program sponsored annually by Phi Theta Kappa, USA TODAY and the American Association of community Colleges. The All-Oklahoma Academic Team is designed to provide the same kind of recognition to our state’s two-year college scholars by saluting their academic achievement, leadership and service

OACC is the organization of Oklahoma’s 14 two-year colleges. Formed to advocate for the two-year college system as a powerful resource for economic and educational development, OACC also works to build awareness of community colleges as an excellent resource for students of all ages, at all stages of their careers.

NOC student Kyle Mathias of Ponca City received the OACC President’s Tuition Waiver Award. Mathias was unable to attend the ceremony. This $1,000 tuition waiver award goes to deserving students selected by the college president for their outstanding academic achievement, their record in the classroom and leadership ability. The waiver may be applied to tuition for the upcoming academic school year at $500 per semester.

“It was an honor to celebrate the achievement of these outstanding students and I wish them continued success as they move forward with their college education and beyond,” said Dr. Cheryl Evans, NOC president. “They truly deserve the recognition and awards they received for their outstanding accomplishments in and outside of the classrooms.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *